MDToolbox-Rx, v3.1 is ONC Health IT 2014 Edition certified*

e-prescribing software-Ambulatory MU

MDToolbox-Rx, v3.1 is ONC Health IT 2014 Edition certified on criteria related to e-Prescribing. The product was certified on the following criteria:

  • 170.314(b)(3) Electronic prescribing
  • 170.314(a)(2) Drug-drug, drug-allergy interactions checks
  • 170.314(a)(10) Drug formulary checks
  • 170.314(a)(6) Medication list
  • 170.314(a)(7) Medication allergy list
  • 170.314(a)(5) Problem list
  • 170.314(a)(1) Computerized provider order entry
  • 170.314(a)(15) Patient-specific education resources
  • 170.314(a)(8) Clinical Decision Support

* This EHR Module is 2014 Edition compliant and has been certified by an ONC-ACB in accordance with the applicable certification criteria adopted by the Secretary of Health and Human Services. This certification does not represent an endorsement by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The additional software relied upon to comply with one or more of the certification criteria include: LexiComp, Medline Plus. There are no additional costs or limitations. MDToolbox-Rx v3.1 was certified on May 2, 2014. CHPL Product Number: 140068R00.

What is Meaningful Use and how does it work?

Integrate e-prescribing software meaningful use

Meaningful Use is a CMS program that allows medical providers to receive incentive payments if they are “meaningful users” of certified electronic health record systems. The providers must first implement a certified product using the minimum functions required, such as e-prescribing. A provider can use an EHR that has been certified on all criteria (a “Complete EHR”) or they can use a combination of products that have certified on portions (“Modules Certified EHRs”).

Quoted from:

The Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs are staged in three steps with increasing requirements for participation. All providers begin participating by meeting the Stage 1 requirements for a 90-day period in their first year of meaningful use and a full year in their second year of meaningful use. After meeting the Stage 1 requirements, providers will then have to meet Stage 2 requirements for two full years. Eligible professionals participate in the program on the calendar years, while eligible hospitals and CAHs participate according to the federal fiscal year.